Turn off unused sharing options on your Mac when you’re not using them

Many security breaches, even high-profile ones, are the result of simple oversight. There is one place in macOS that has long been particularly prone to such errors: the shared area of ​​the system settings. Inside it, you can enable a variety of sharing services, some of which could allow another user to access your Mac remotely. They all allow you to restrict access to specific users, but passwords can be stolen, accounts can be compromised, and server software can contain bugs. If you are not actively using a sharing service, switch it off for security reasons. The main ones to turn off when not in use are screen sharing, file sharing, remote login, remote administration, and remote Apple events. We also warn against leaving printer sharing and internet sharing on unnecessarily.

(Featured image by Morgane Perraud on Unsplash)